Posted by: ourbakersdozen | August 24, 2016

Daily Reflections


August 24th 2016

When the moderators in a private prayer group that I belong to asked if a few of us would be willing to do write a reflection on the daily readings a few times a week – I volunteered to take on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I’ve recently stepped back from writing the monthly 7QT for Catholic Sista’s and so I thought it would be good to keep my hand at some regular writing and better yet – I would have to read the bible…. at least 3 times a week. I don’t know about you but I have found it hard to commit to reading the bible daily. Like many others – I do not necessarily feel God’s real presence when I tackle that black print on the white page but as Jem Sullivan Phd (catechist & author) shares in this reflection on the USCCB site, if we approach God’s word again and again He WILL reveal himself.

The LORD is near to all who call upon him,
to all who call upon him in truth. Psalm 145:17-18

And therein lies the key – we can only hope to come to know God ‘calling on Him‘ regularly. That is something I fail to do beyond Sunday Mass and sometimes attending Holy Hour, sometimes daily Mass and trying to pray daily. There are many ways, of course, of spending time with God and seeking his presence. Prayer, Adoration, Mass; all of these afford us entrance to God. But – really the easiest way is through reading His word. We don’t even have to leave the house to do this. Why then do I find it so difficult? I’m not going to try to answer that question yet and instead, like my decision to start blogging again, I’m just going to jump right in. This challenge to write three times a week about the daily readings is the perfect means to do so. There are so many resources available online. For now I am finding the USCCB site for daily readings to be a great place to start. The videos you can see to the right of the (USCCB) daily readings offer a personal look into one of the daily readings with some inspiration for reflection.

While I may not immediately feel God’s presence in His Word, I know that just by taking the time, I can trust that He is near and that He is always revealing himself to those who seek Him. By spending this time in reflection each week, I am hoping that I will become more open to His presence everywhere in my life.

If any of you have some favorite resources online or otherwise that you use to study the word of God please share them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Categories

