Posted by: ourbakersdozen | April 2, 2012

How old do you have to be to chew gum in our home?


Yesterday while cuddled up with Cecilia on my lap, she noticed I was popping a piece of gum in my mouth. Heaving a heavy sigh Cici reminded me that she was too little to have gum. You see ever so many years a go, a few months after purchasing our new (to us) van I became very tired of cleaning gum off the seats, floors, windows… and proclaimed there would be a new family rule.

“No gum chewing until you are TEN years old in our family.”

This has remained a hard and fast rule that remained steadfast in the fifteen years since this proclamation. And here is Cici’s interpretation of it:

“I tan’t chew gum yet, can I Momma? I’m not old enough!”

“That’s right, Cici, do you know how old you have to be?”

“Yeth!” she exclaimed confidently.

“So how old do you have to be Cici?”

“BIG!”

“Yes, Cici,” I laughed,  “you have to be big.”

And I guess ten is big to a three year old, and ever so far away!

Responses

  1. We have a no gum rule, too. I spent too much time scraping it off the wood floor, and out of the dryer. Ugh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

