Posted by: ourbakersdozen | March 11, 2012

Daylight Savings – a silver lining


Somewhere during the night an hour disappeared, not to be regained until the autumn when we will fall back into our winter rhythm. I do not know, or understand, the reasoning of this ritual form of torture. But dare I admit that there is a silver lining to this time change for me?

As a family we try to attend daily Mass at least two or three times a week with the goal being that one day we will not miss a single daily Mass. During the winter months one of the things I love about the time of day that our church celebrates daily Mass is the dark stillness of the sky as we disembark from our full van and pass through the chill, predawn air into church. As the doors close behind us, we are greeted by the Gregorian chant and soft light of candles.

After participating in the Sacrifice of the Mass, and receiving our Saviour, we head back out into the world and as we open the door to leave; we are welcomed back into the world by the sun’s natural light. I love this physical metaphor of what we have just experienced.

So my silver lining of this lunacy we call Daylight Savings is a few more weeks of this visual reminder of what we have received through the Mass – the banishment of the darkness of the world through the natural light of Christ.

If you enjoyed this post – be sure to check out other Catholic Posts from The Catholic Carnival at “This, That and the Other Thing.

Responses

  1. Oddly enough, this is the first year EVER that I don’t feel like I’ve been run over by a truck when the time changed. In fact, I was up and getting things done earlier than usual – how weird is that? Maybe it’s just because I’m even more excited than usual about the changing of the seasons and the approach of the Easter celebration ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. An inspiring post. I haven’t thought of it this way. Starting daylight savings time is always hard on my body in my aging years. I do love the early morning light and praying during the dawn, so I’ll keep in mind what you’ve written here.

  3. I’ve thought about your post a few times over the last week. It is a lovely reflection! We had the opposite effect last night as I took our crew to youth group at our local shrine. Nearing 7pm, it was still very light outside, but pitch dark after we finished up with Adoration.

    I’ve started a new blog, and I’m kind of lonely. ๐Ÿ˜‰ If you’d like to stop by to visit, I’d love company. http://authenticcatholicism.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

