Posted by: ourbakersdozen | June 19, 2011

Not such a simple prayer as it seemed at first!


Recently while reading a simple yet beautiful prayer there was a line I stumbled over: “take away all my worries”. After I had uttered those five simple words I suspected that when God heard me he laughed or maybe shook His head at me as he envisioned a serious tug of war between us. I was imploring Him to take all my worries away but was I really open to letting them go? Or was I thoughtlessly mouthing the words and not actually discharging my worries into my Father’s care, ready instead, to snatch them back into my possession at a moment’s notice?

What would happen the rest of the day after praying that God would release me from all of my fears? Would I be churning the worries of this bill due or that child’s problem over and over in my mind while I mindlessly washed the dishes? When I read a story to the little ones – would I hear the words I was reading or would my mind be wandering through fields populated with this worry and that one? In truth, more often than not, my day is spent with worry intricately wound throughout my every thought and movement of the day.

Finally, two weeks ago my husband and I were confronted with a problem that was truly out of our hands and my husband helplessly sighed “We are just going to have to let God sort this one out. There is nothing we can do. Nothing!

And for once – I did let it go. I prayed whenever it came to mind, I added it to my morning prayers and my prayers at Mass. In between those moments of prayers when I was tempted to snatch this problem back from our Father so as to twist and wind it about in the hot little hands of my imagination, knowing full well the results would be that I felt harried, anxious and impatient with all who were about me; I simply refused to give into that temptation. And when the temptation threatened to overtake my resolve, I would pick anyone of my favorite short prayers to distract myself.

In order to be able to do this and feel peace I had to also believe that, as proclaimed in Romans,all things work together for good to them that love God”, ( Romans 8:28) or as Peter Kreeft comments in his book Prayer for Beginners:For if God is all-good he wills only our good and never our harm...” p102  I had to be willing to believe that whatever the outcome of this problem – it would be for the best because God only wants what is best for us. Therefor what did it matter whether I spent hours lamenting over this and wringing my hands – the outcome would be the same and it would be for the best. And isn’t that true of all my worries? After all did not Jesus tell us:  “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

And who am I to question the wisdom of Christ’s words? So, with the gift of faith, I am now able to pray:

God our Father, walk through my house and take away
all my worries and illnesses and please watch over and heal
my family in Jesus name, Amen.

Responses

  1. I like that you prayed every time the problem came to your mind. It’s a habit I would do well to develop. Surrender to God’s will and not stressing out over it is a lifetime work for us worry-warts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

