Posted by: ourbakersdozen | March 21, 2011

So where did we go…


… after I got us all loaded up!?!

Well – we moved. That much was already clear but why in the world did I not stay in touch with how the move was going?

Well – we did not have internet for several WEEKS following the move. Long story and not very interesting but maybe Ill tell y’all bout it later. If you insist…

Within hours of starting to move everything in – it became clear there were several issues that needed to be dealt with – most of them of the plumbing nature. This initially left us with only one toilet out of three working, no sinks or bathtubs/showers for two weeks nor laundry facilities. And for the first four days we washed the dishes with a pail under the sink.  It was ahhh interesting. Oh and all the kids got the flu – the old fashioned kind with fever and chills. Given the plumbing situation I was most grateful it was not of the tummy variety – if you know what I mean.

This was all barely sorted out when Emma’s surgery date rolled up. So one fine Saturday morning Emma, Hugo and I beat the birds & sun out of bed and headed to Charlotte. Long story short – Emma’s 2 hour surgery took four. She seems to like the long odds (if that is the correct gambling terms) and if there is the smallest percentage of a chance that she will endure a complication – she falls right smack dab into that category! After a number of complications longer than predicted stay – she is now home and doing very well. Still pale but the I think the dark circles under her eyes are fading – unless that is wishful thinking on my part.

Hugo is of course teaching & working on his masters, I am building my small business v.e.r.y.   s.l.o.w.l.y!  The kids are back to homeschooling  and six weeks after the move most (cough cough) of the plumbing kinks have been sorted out… most of them….  I’m thinking of these little trials as nails Jesus is sharing with us – or perhaps I should call them the love kisses as Mother Theresa was fond of referring to them.

My wrists are killing me so I will say good night and promise to keep in touch now that we are once again connected to the real err internet world.  I think the trick is to keep my notes to you short and sweet!

Nite all and GOD BLESS!

Responses

  1. Thank you for the update. I’ve been praying for all of you in your absence. I was just telling myself I needed to look for your email if you didn’t update soon to check on Emma.


Leave a Reply

Categories

