Posted by: ourbakersdozen | May 20, 2010

Quick post before bed…


I have been busier than ever and filled with gratitude for Emma’s quick recovery from her surgery and the wonerful and incredible miracles we have experienced through prayer on her behalf.  This has lead me to zero more in on my family and less on my writing.

Still – a writer can not stay away from her addiction for long so here I am with a quick post before bed and I do mean quick. I’m getting up at 5:45 these days with the hopes of eventually winding that alarm back to five. In order to do this I MUST be in bed by 9:30 – which coincidently is also when Cecilia is ready for bed.

As I alluded to above – I am busier than ever but still wanting to be able to make yummy breakfasts from scratch.  This is one reason I am getting up so early. It takes a while to gather all the ingredients – find the measuring cups and spoons even IF they are in the right storage place. Then there is the tedious job of measuring and if you are wanting to make two recipes – one for breakfast and the other for snack… well, its not long before you are running out of time to have everything ready before sleepy heads start poking in the kitchen doorway asking em what I’m baking.

Well – tonight I put into action something the founder of the business I am working in used to do to save her time in the kitchen. I pre-measured the dry ingredients into ziplock baggies after writing what wet ingredients to add to them and what temperature to cook the tripled recipe at. Now I don’t even have to grab my favorite recipe book and search out my favorite breakfast items. Then I got really smart and on the other side wrote out the dry ingredients so I can easily refill the bags w/o the recipe book.  To pre measure two bags of pancake ingredients, two bags of welsh cakes ingredients and 2 of my favorite biscuit recipe took about 30 minutes. Next time it will take less than that as the plastic bags will already be written on.

Looking forward to tomorrow morning and deciding which ‘instant made from scratch’ meal to make.  It’s now 9:29 which leaves me one minute to brush my teeth, wash my face, take my vitamins and get to bed… so I’m off! Good Night and God Bless!

Responses

  1. What an awesome idea! Why didn’t I think of it? Going to try that soon and congrats on your new addition!


Leave a Reply

Categories

