Posted by: ourbakersdozen | March 13, 2010

Accepting myself


There are a few blogs that I like to read but sometimes avoid reading them because… well, they make me discontent with myself. They tend to be folksy art type people who are extremely artistic while somehow seeming to be free flowing and ultra organized at the same time. I just don’t know how one does that. Free flow while still totally in control of one’s life…

Suddenly tonight after happening on one of those types of blogs again and meandering around the site admiring the photos, art projects and seamless school curriculums where the mum is able to roll math into the science project all while on a walk through a museum that is followed by violin practice, ballet lessons and soccer practice (Yes, this sentence is dripping with green.) I suddenly realized; This. will. never. be. me.

It’s just not who I am – no matter how much I envy admire these mums. And more importantly – its okay. I can admire them for who they are and what they do without it meaning that what I am doing is less. Its simply different.

So maybe now I can traverse through and more freely enjoy these blogs and not leave them feeling that I am somehow failing simply because I am not them… and… never will be. Well, we’ll see. Perhaps it is not quite that simple. Because somehow – I often feel that they have achieved a peace in their home that I am still struggling to achieve in mine. Perhaps when I achieve that peace I will truly be able to enjoy those blogs. That peace is what I am striving for this Lent which is causing big changes to slowly evolve in my heart and my home.

Self realization is the first step to self acceptance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

