Posted by: ourbakersdozen | February 24, 2010

Lenten Reflection


What do I want to get out of this Lent?

It is a common tradition within our Catholic faith that one will give up treats and sweets for Lent so much so, that it seems almost sacrilegious to not give them up. Still it is not a tradition that I have adhered to much (I can hear my good friend Peggy snorting and saying to herself maybe that’s because you already have almost NO treats in your life.)

I suspect though that it’s more likely because I did not grow up in the Catholic Faith and in fact had never heard of the idea of fasting on Fridays during Lent nor was I even really aware that Lent existed until my teens.

That said – just what am I giving up this Lent? Well, as a family we have given up watching movies during the week and in particular Lost. We are replacing this time with more one on one family time as well as more prayer time. But myself personally I have not  given up any particular thing so much as trying to be more aware of where I am failing on a daily, even hourly basis. I am seeking to be more self aware.

Aware of when I say no…. when I could have said yes.

Aware of when I could have been more gentle when I wasn’t.

Aware of when I could have laughed at myself and didn’t because I was too proud.

Aware of the love that is surrounding me instead of only seeing the disobedience of young children – still in so much need of loving guidance.

To be aware of how easy it is to crush a tender flower that is evolving without even noticing the damage – until it is too late.

In short to be alive to how much love and peace I can infuse in my surroundings and how quickly I can eradicate it – simply by not being aware.

And most importantly to be aware that I can not accomplish any of these things alone.  I need God’s graces and Mary’s loving intercession.

Responses

  1. What a great approach to Lent! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

