Posted by: ourbakersdozen | February 21, 2010

Upstaged…


I got up early this morning to make cinnamon rolls but soon realized I did not have enough butter for the huge quantity that we make. So instead I made mayonnaise biscuits from Company’s Coming Muffins and More.  I mixed up a triple bath, followed by a double batch of biscuits. They were the largest biscuits I have ever made – measuring 3 inches in diameter.  They emerged from the oven light, fluffy and golden – they looked like a picture from a magazine, if I must say so myself.

I had to fend off the children, telling them they were for lunch and NOT. TO. TOUCH.

We invited friends over after Mass and made a quick stop at a local store to grab some hard salami to serve with the biscuits and cheese for lunch.  My husband sliced up the meat while Lee made coffee and Peggy helped me whip up chocolate icing for the tiny cupcakes I had also made before Mass.

Hugo and Lee then chatted while Peggy and I decorated the little cupcakes and finally the dining room table was ready for the masses two families to gather and break bread together. However, by now there were only the two men, Peggy, two year old Holly, 13 month old Cecilia and myself left to sit at our delectable luncheon.

The rest? Why they were outside at the picnic table feasting on MRE’s Miguel had left over from his training… I mean, after all, why have a hearty freshly baked biscuit with hard salami, cheese and cupcakes when you can have one of these….

Responses

  1. It was really shocking wasn’t it? The biscuits were picture perfect and delicious. Who would E-V-E-R choose an MRE over that!

    No joke: Kids do the darndest things!


Leave a Reply

Categories

