Posted by: ourbakersdozen | February 17, 2010

Guidelines for Lent

Guidelines For Lent

1) The time of Lent is to be observed by Catholics as a special season of prayer, penance, and works of charity.

2) Ash Wednesday and Good Friday are days of both fast and abstinence. All Fridays in Lent are days of abstinence.

3) FASTING means only one full meal a day can be taken. Eating between meals breaks the fast. The rule obliges Catholics between the ages of 18 to 59.  It is permissible to eat two other meals, sufficient to maintain ones strength so long as together they do not equal another full meal. Pregnant and nursing mothers are excused from fasting and can offer up other sacrifices or extra prayers in lieu of fasting. In addition, where fasting would seriously affect one’s health or ability to work, the law does not oblige a Catholic to follow the fast.

4) ABSTINENCE refers to the eating of meats but does not include egg or milk products, meat based soups or gravies. This binds ALL Catholics 14 years or older. Pregnant women who can find alternate means for sufficient protein should  follow the law of abstinence.

Fasting, almsgiving and prayer are the three traditional disciplines of Lent.

Canon Law excerpts in detail can be found here at EWTN.

picture credit and thank you to our parish priest for proof reading my post to ensure that my facts are correct.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: